|Resident License Fees||Fees||Where to buy|
|*CHARTER/HEAD BOAT-6 & UNDER PASSENGERS||$224.00||VMRC OPERATIONS|
|*CHARTER/HEAD BOAT-MORE THAN 6 PASSENGERS||$224.00 plus
$5.00 per passenger over 6
|BOAT RENTAL||$19.00 per boat
|COMMERCIAL FISH PIER||$83.00||VMRC OPERATIONS|
|COMMERCIAL PIER-SALTWATER RECREATIONAL, OPTIONAL||$669.00 in addition to $83 fee above||VMRC OPERATIONS|
|CLASS A FISHING GUIDE LICENSE||
|CLASS B FISHING GUIDE LICENSE||
|Non-Resident License Fees||Fees||Where to buy|
|*NON-RESIDENT HARTER/HEAD BOAT-6 & UNDER PASSENGERS||$421.00||VMRC OPERATIONS|
|*NON-RESIDENT CHARTER/HEAD BOAT-MORE THAN 6 PASSENGERS||$421.00 plus
$5.00 per passenger over 6
|NON-RESIDENT BOAT RENTAL||$23.00 per boat
|NON-RESIDENT CLASS A FISHING GUIDE LICENSE||
|NON-RESIDENT CLASS B FISHING GUIDE LICENSE||
|NON-RESIDENT FISHING GUIDE RECIPROCITY PERMIT||No Cost||VMRC OPERATIONS|
*When the same applicant purchases a Class A or Class B fishing guide license prior to purchasing one charter boat or head boat license as required by § 28.2-302.8 of the Code of Virginia, the fee for that charter boat or head boat license shall be reduced by the cost of the fishing guide license.
Reciprocity Agreement Amendment>
MD/VA Reciprocity agreement>
Charter boat permitting and other licensing requirements:
In addition to a US Coast Guard license, the regular VA charter boat license, and the guides license referenced above, a charter boat captain may be required to obtain additional no-cost permits. Such permits are usually set up to ensure that charter captains are aware of rules associated with special management programs for a species and to facilitate harvest reporting. As of January 2003, the only additional permit being required for charter boat captains is for the striped bass fishery (see the striped bass regulation for specifics if you are interested in the legal requirement).
Charter boat captains are required to report to the Commission all daily quantities of striped bass caught and harvested, and daily fishing hours for themselves or their customers, respectively. Captains may report using the Charter Boat Online Reporting System or by manually submitting the following forms:
Boat Harvest Reporting Form / Charter
Boat Trophy Harvest Reporting Form
(in PDF format; go to Forms
for Word format). For information on Charter Boat
Samantha Hoover or call (757) 247-2115. You must purchase your
license before requesting a permit.
All permits and licenses expire on December 31 for the year listed on the permits or licenses.
Other reciprocal licenses:
that additional permits may be required while
operating in federal waters. Click
federal permitting information.
General fishing regulations for recreational hook and line fishermen (apply to hook and line fishermen on a charter boat )
Regulation prohibiting sale of recreational hook&line caught fish and requiring charter boat captains to report catch if requested by personnel authorized by the Commission to collect those statistics
commercial hook&line fishing on charter boat carrying
that are recreationally fishing
Virginia Saltwater Angler's Guide (full color PDF guide of saltwater angling in VA)
Saltwater Angling and its Economic Importance to Virginia (VIMS report in PDF format; large file about 3Mb)
Error processing SSI file